Menu:

 
Thursdays are Production Day at Beijing Review. That means all the stories must be edited, pages are designed and proofs are printed for the foreign copy editors. 

I would be shadowing another foreign copy editor to learn the process and manage the job the next week by myself.

The process is not much different than reading proofs at previous internships, so everything went smoothly... at first.

The other editor told me he usually finished up around 10 or 11 p.m. It was 8 p.m. and the Chinese editor had just brought me a dinner from one of the local restaurants. This wasn't too bad, I thought as I ate what I thought was chicken.


Then 10 o'clock passed. 11 followed soon thereafter and soon enough it was 2 in the morning. When we finished, the editor in charge said we could have the day off Friday. A wise decision, since I would have just stayed overnight if I had to come back the next morning.



Leave a Reply.