Menu:

 
After accepting the job with Beijing Review I started looking for an apartment... again. This time, I knew what to expect and what strategies to use to get the best price and locations.

I started calling people who listed apartments on the site I used before, in my failed apartment search. Once again, I was shown overpriced, unlivable environments. But soon enough I found the perfect place.

Located less than a block from a subway station on the same line as Beijing Review, the apartment was everything I wanted. It was a duplex, with 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, a shared, fully furnished living room, kitchen and washing machine space. My bedroom was located on the second floor of the duplex and included its own bathroom. It was more than enough space and I fell under my budget for housing.


One of the contacts I've made in Beijing, Ken McManus, a copy editor with South China Morning Post, put me in touch with a friend of his. This friend happens to be a lawyer. When reviewing the lease, he noticed a few irregularities, which will be taken care of soon.


Now all I have to do is find the world-class gym in the area and I'll be all set.



Leave a Reply.